My makes of 2015: Open back top

This is the fifth instalment in my ‘Makes of 2015’ series, in which I’m shining the spotlight on my unsung makes of 2015 – you know, the ones I’ve been wearing so much that I’ve forgotten to shout about them! If you missed the last instalment you can find it here.

Today I’m talking about a quick little open back top I made last summer, when it was so hot in our flat that a full t-shirt was just too much! I used the fabric remnants I had left over from my Mathilde blouse, which was a perfect weight for a light, summery project.

thumb_DSC07028_1024

I self-drafted the pattern with the help of an existing vest-style top I already own (to get the neck and shoulders right), and then customised the back with a wide overlap and two buttons to join the neck at the back. The buttons are functional on this version, but the neck hole is actually wide enough that I never have to use them – I can just slip it over my head.

open_back_top

 

Here’s what the front and back look like – I actually wore it quite a lot in winter too over a little black body con dress, so it’s a top for all seasons!

thumb_IMG_7065_1024

Having said that, the week after I made the top the weather took a turn for the worse so I actually ended up wearing it like this for the rest of the summer:

thumb_IMG_0255_1024

Can you see the top? No? That’s because it’s hidden under three jumpers and a coat! Ah well, best laid plans….

Leave a Reply

